All posts tagged: new

New Board members join Upstream Ottawa

New Board members join Upstream Ottawa

July 7, 2022

Five new members were elected to the Board of Directors at Upstream’s recent Annual General Meeting (AGM): Eddie Gillis, Brett Hodgins, Jenna MacLeod, Courtney Smith and Patrick Dare. Returning Board members are Jane Murray, Véronique Joncas, Jasmine Qi, Kelsey Cloutier, Nik Karajovic, Elliot Culligan, Melonie Bidgood and Jenni Condon.

During the AGM, an Executive Committee was also chosen:

Chair – Véronique Joncas.
Vice-Chair – Jasmine Qi.
Treasurer – Nik Karajovic.
Secretary – Courtney Smith.
Member at Large – Elliot Culligan.
Past Chair – Jane Murray.

The new Chair of the Board, Véronique Joncas, thanked the outgoing Chair, Jane Murray, for her many years of leadership on the Board of Upstream. Outgoing Board member Luke Janisse was thanked for his years of work, skillfully managing the organization’s finances as Treasurer. Outgoing Board member Samantha Fauteux was thanked for her years of work as Co-Secretary and support on the Communications Committee.

The meeting, which was generously hosted by KPMG and attended by Upstream staff, heard about how Upstream managed to continue delivering services through the COVID pandemic, as well as some of the upcoming challenges, including delivering substance-use services through a major new program, the Substance Abuse Program for African Canadian and Caribbean Youth (SAPPACY).

With the addition of these new members of the Board, Upstream continues to be committed to providing a range of critical community supports and affordable housing options to adults and youth struggling with persistent mental illness and related issues. Services include: intensive mental health case management, housing, youth support services with a focus on Black youth and their families, crisis prevention, medication management and life-skills coaching.

A complete list of Board Members is available on For more information go to, or contact our Executive Director Bo Turpin at 248-3330 ext. 127,

New Board members join Upstream Ottawa
read more